Holding fast to dreams…

Hold fast to dreams,

for if dreams die

life is a broken-winged bird that cannot fly.

– Langston Hughes

A little over two years ago, I began this blog when I was nose-deep in a post-PCS funk.  I felt placeless, lost, and downright blue.  It was a move that hit me hardest emotionally.  There are a number of reasons why that might have been the case, but somewhere in the midst of it, I felt a good, hard kick in the pants, and I did something I’d wanted to do for so long.

I began writing.  Regularly.

And with that, I woke up.

I wrote about something I cared about, something that prompted much self-reflection almost all the time.  This blog came to life, and I have been so grateful to you, my faithful readers, for reading, commenting, and encouraging me.  A writer doesn’t get very far without her readers.  So thank you.

Not long ago, I decided to go for it and submit some pieces to Military Spouse Magazine, a publication that shares important resources, entertaining stories, and a wealth of advice, support, and compassion.  Today was a wonderful part of my writing journey, as MSM published my article, “Dear PCS,” on their web site.  I am over the moon, overjoyed, and overwhelmed with happiness.  Thank you, Military Spouse Magazine, for sharing my story!

Almost exactly two years ago, I wrote “Plan for NOW” and “This is Me,” both of which reflected on building on one’s skills and assets, and realizing one’s dreams in the process, in this whirlwind of a military life.  At the time, I felt a shift, as if putting those thoughts down, sharing them with you – and many whom I don’t know – was pushing me in a way I hadn’t anticipated.  Suddenly, there was a rhythm, a rumble, and oh, what a ride it has been.  And the view ahead, while partly shrouded in mystery, as life tends to be, is nevertheless open and welcoming.

There is much about this lifestyle and this process that I still have yet to know.  But what I do know is that writing has fulfilled me in ways I hadn’t planned.  Thank you for being a part of it all.

 

6 thoughts on “Holding fast to dreams…

  1. This writer continues to astound me. Her reflection of military lifestyle
    is not only informative but deeply rooted with emotions and experiences
    that I will never have. This is why I love reading her stories. It gives
    me great insight to another world, our world. The military that protects
    and serves our great United States of America. My hats off to the
    service men and their awesome wives. Thank you Natalie for your voice.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s wonderful, Natalie, I love seeing your writing–and your life–develop in this way!

    Now, is this the MSM they all complain about? 8*)

    Miss you and Mike and the kids!

    Love, Peg

    Like

Tell me what you think! :-)

